Hosts Chile has won the 44th edition of the Copa America for the first time in the country’s history after beating Argentina 4-1 on penalty shoot-out on Saturday July 4.

Alexis Sanchez hit the game-winning penalty to give Chile a 4-1 advantage, after Gonzalo Higuain missed badly for Argentina and his teammate Ever Banega’s penalty was saved by Claudio Bravo. Lionel Messi was the only Argentine to convert his penalty in the shoot-out, according to

Matias Fernandez, Arturo Vidal and Charles Aranguiz all netted for Chile before Sanchez’s winner.

                                       Claudio Bravo celebrates with his Golden Glove trophy

Share this


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here